President: Michal Gajewski, DO, Santa Fe, New Mexico

Michal Gajewski, DO, completed a Bachelor of Science in Biology and a Bachelor of Art in Art History Criticism from Stony Brook University in Stony Brook, NY. He achieved a Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine from New York College of Osteopathic Medicine and completed his Medical Residency in Anesthesiology at Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons St. Luke’s Roosevelt Hospital Center in New York, NY. Dr. Gajewski completed a Fellowship in Critical Care at Harvard Medical School Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston, MA.

Dr. Gajewski is Board Certified by the American Board of Anesthesiology, the American Board of Anesthesiology – Critical Care and the National Board of Echocardiography. He is also an active member of the Trauma Anesthesia Society, Society for Education in Anesthesiology, American Society of Anesthesiologists, New York State Society of Anesthesiologists and the New York Academy of Medicine Associates. Dr. Gajewski has published many peer reviewed publications and has completed clinical research. He is fluent in Polish and is knowledgeable in Spanish.


Secretary-Treasurer: Sally Vender, M.D., Albuquerque, New Mexico

Dr. Vender is a congenital cardiac anesthesiologist at Presbyterian hospital in Albuquerque, New Mexico. She graduated from the University of New Mexico School of Medicine and completed her anesthesiology residency and pediatric anesthesia fellowship there, too. After graduating, she was privileged to serve as an attending physician where she loved working with residents and fellows. She was afforded the opportunity to obtain advanced clinical training in congenital cardiac anesthesia at Stanford.

When not sending kids to outer space with flavored astronaut masks, she enjoys spending time with her own kiddos (and sometimes wishes she could anesthetize them) and attempting to ride mountain bikes with her husband. She is grateful to able to practice medicine in New Mexico.


ASA District Director New Mexico: Ruth Burstrom, M.D., Albuquerque, New Mexico

Dr. Burstrom graduated from the Medical College of Wisconsin, completed her anesthesiology residency at Hartford Hospital followed by a two year geriatric anesthesia fellowship at the University of Washington.  Moving to work at the Albuquerque VA hospital in 1995 where she practiced until transferring to work at UNMH.  She has been on multiple local & departmental medical committees as well as serving on the ASA’s Geriatric Committee, Geriatric Track Education sub-committee, Credentialing Committee as well as Reference Committees.  She has also been a long serving delegate and Alternate Director from New Mexico, as well as being New Mexico’s ASA PAC representative. She remains active with lectures to residents including trauma, geriatrics and GU surgeries.  When she’s not keeping up with ASA and political issues you might find her out gardening or birding.


ASA Delegate: Terra Wubbenhorst, M.D., Albuquerque, New Mexico

Terra Wubbenhorst, MD is currently an assistant professor of Anesthesiology at the University of New Mexico School of Medicine. Terra is originally from Houston, TX and did her anesthesia residency and critical care fellowship at UT-Houston. She moved to Albuquerque and joined UNM after working in Texas in private practice for a few years. Terra has been involved in medical student and resident education, as well as quality improvement. Terra enjoys working out, cooking, reading, the wonderful Albuquerque weather, and spending time with her family.


ASA Delegate: Jeffrey Trujillo, M.D., Albuquerque, New Mexico

Jeffrey Trujillo, MD, is currently completing his final year of residency at the University of Mexico (UNM) and will be joining Anesthesia Associates of New Mexico upon completion of residency. He is a native New Mexican, attending UNM for his undergraduate and medical education. He began his residency training at the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. He later transferred back to his home program at UNM to complete his residency training in Anesthesiology.

Outside of working in Anesthesiology, he enjoys spending time in the outdoors, traveling, and playing golf. Dr. Trujillo is grateful to be able to practice Anesthesiology in his native state and looks forward to beginning of this rewarding career.


Alternate Delegate: Austin Oetken, M.D., Albuquerque, New Mexico

Dr. Oetken received a B.S. degree (2009) from Baylor University. He earned his Doctor of Medicine degree (2013) from Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. Following his MD degree he completed a 2-year anesthesiology residency at the Brooke Army Medical Center, as well as a 2-year anesthesiology residency at the University of New Mexico Hospital.


Alternate Delegate: Lia Hoffner, M.D., Albuquerque, New Mexico

Lia Hoffner, MD is an assistant professor of Anesthesiology and Interventional Chronic Pain Management at the University of New Mexico. Originally from South Florida, she completed both her residency and fellowship at UNM and was excited to stay and serve as an attending physician following graduation. She enjoys mountain biking, skiing, and traveling.  

Immediate Past President: Mary Billstrand, M.D., Albuquerque, New Mexico

Mary Billstrand, MD, FASA is an associate professor of anesthesiology at the University of New Mexico Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care. Her primary anesthesiology practice focuses on ambulatory surgery and regional anesthesia. Currently, she is assistant medical director of the Outpatient Surgery and Imaging Services center (OSIS) at UNM. She is also an ASA representative member of the board on the Accreditation Review Committee for the Anesthesiologist Assistant. She is a native of New Mexico and enjoys spending time with her family.